Music Business & Administration, 4 ECTS

Learn with Ann Slangar, the CEO and A&R for the music publishing company Sugar House Publishing Inc. with earlier experience from running a studio, record label and management. Ann recently received the Finnish Music Publishers Honors Music Export Award. https://musicfinland.com/en/news/sugar-house-publishing-ceo-ann-slangar-wins-music-publishers-export-award 

 

Target Group
Songwriters, Producers, Top-liners, Musicians and Music teachers and entrepreneurs who want to develop music business skills on an international level.

Learning Goals
After the course student will have a deeper knowledge in music business and administration.

Mode of delivery
Online only using Microsoft Teams. You will be invited to Sugar House Publishing Inc. Teams organisation.
Zoom
will be used for some guest interviews.

TEAMS Tech Check
Thursday 2021.11.4 between 17 – 19 EET (Finland), 3 pm – 5 pm GMT. During those hours, please log in to Sugar House Publishing Inc. (that you have setup earlier when invited) to see if everything works. If your time zone is difficult for this, please email ann.slangar@sugarhouse.fi and we will check separately. All participants will receive further information by email.

Preliminary schedule (changes might occur later)

The course starts with an online start-up weekend Nov 6th – Nov 7th

  • Saturday          2021.11.6        12.00 – 16.00 EET, 10 am – 2 pm GMT
  • Sunday            2021.11.7        12.00 – 15.00 EET, 10 am – 1 pm GMT

INDIEWEEK CANADA ONLINE MUSIC CONGRESS 2021.11.9 – 2021.11.13 – FREE PASS FOR STUDENTS!

  • Saturday          2021.11.13      12.00 – 15.00 EET, 10 am – 1 pm GMT
  • Monday            2021.11.15      19.00-20.00EET, 5pm-6pm GMT Let´s Talk! Interview
    DARRYL HURS, Director of Market Development,
    CD BABY Canada, https://cdbaby.com/
    I
    NDIWEEK Canada Owner, CEO
    https://www.indieweek.com/

  • Sunday            2021.11.21      12.00 – 15.00 EET, 10 am – 1 pm GMT
  • Monday           2021.11.22      19.00 – 20.00 EET, 5 pm – 6 pm GMT
    MANDY AUBRY, Director of Business development
    SONGTRUST- International copyright administration
    https://www.songtrust.com/

  • Saturday          2021.11.27      12.00 – 15.00 EET, 10 am – 1 pm GMT
  • Monday            2021.11.29      19.00 – 20.00 EET, 5 pm – 6 pm GMT Let’s Talk! Interview
    APPU KRISHNAN,
    CEO, producer LOUD BOY MUSIC (LA)
    https://www.loudboymusic.com/

  • Saturday          2021.12.04      12.00 – 14.00 EET, 10 am – 12 pm GMT
                                                  13.30 - 14.00 EET, 11.30 am - 12 pm GMT Let´s Talk! Interview
                                                   HERMAN HAGNÄS – GUNS ROSOR
                                                   @gunsrosorofficial • Instagram photos and videos, https://www.instagram.com/gunsrosorofficial/
  • Saturday          2021.12.11     12.00 – 14.00 EET, 10 am – 12 pm GMT

Subjects of course (in no specific order)

  • How to run a music business as a company
  • Metadata and DSP’s, aggregators
  • Songwriting copyright and rights organisations
  • Master copyright and rights organisations
  • Role of a Music Publisher – do I need one?
  • International situations, agreements and splits

Assessment criteria
You will be Approved or Failed.
To be approval you need to be active participate, complete tasks in this course and you will have to do studies and some individual tasks on your own as well. We will not do any group assignments.
     

Teachers:

Ann Slangar,  CEO of Sugar House Publishing based in Vaasa, Finland. 
https://sh-publishing.com/

https://www.lafosongwritersacademy.com/teachers

 

 

 

 

 

Kursspråk

Engelska

Tidpunkt

06.11.2021 - 11.12.2021

Kursavgift

Ingen avgift